18th August 2012 – Dahlia

I have mixed feelings about dahlias.  When I was growing up during the 60s and 70s, they were very popular garden flowers in the UK.  I remember them filling up my childhood garden alongside the vegetables that my parents attempted to grow while holding down a young family and full-time jobs.  I certainly didn’t fully appreciate dahlias then, and I’m not sure they are my favourite now.

Towards the end of the 70s and early 80s dahlias went out of favour in Britain, appearing to only be loved by those who wished to show them at local horticultural and agricultural shows.

But it would seem that dahlias are coming back into favour now, and I am seeing them in most Canadian gardens now.  It is probably because they continue to flower throughout the late summer and into autumn, bringing colour to a garden that is slowly preparing for the long winters.

This dahlia was captured after having been soaked with a sprinkler for a couple of hours.  The water droplets are clearly visible, as is the next flower bud waiting its turn to blossom and give colour and life to a garden that is running out of energy toward the end of a very warm summer here in the Okanagan Valley.

This entry was published on August 18, 2012 at 9:23 pm. It’s filed under Photos and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink. Follow any comments here with the RSS feed for this post.

13 thoughts on “18th August 2012 – Dahlia

  1. i totally love this shot!!

  2. Beautiful image!

    Greetings
    Dina

  3. breathtaking pic!

    • Thank you. I will confess that this was a last gasp photo for my challenge of the day. I hadn’t taken any photos during the day until I went out into the garden in an attempt to find something. I was very pleased with the results.

      • I nominated you as the Super Sweet Blogging Award
        Chk my site: http://simplycaptured9.wordpress.com/2012/08/22/233/

      • Thank you for this award. It is a real delight to be honoured in this way, and it is also humbling that you should consider my blog enjoyable and worth the follow. I think we nearly always are amazed at how people respond to our thoughts and feelings on this big thing called the World Wide Web. I’ll take some time to read through about the award and consider my response. Once again, thank you. Kate

  4. Beautiful photo!

  5. Hey Robin, thanks for the comment. I love the colour of this dahlia. Pinks, oranges, yellows are great but this dark merlot-coloured red is stunning.

  6. I find them very beautiful, and so is your shot. 🙂

Leave a Reply

