22nd May 2012 – Blackbirds and Flickers – World Bird Wednesday

OK, I know that I am posting this on a Tuesday but with World Bird Wednesday needing to make sure it gives everyone around the globe a chance to enter, it starts early here on the Pacific, Canada.  Please check out World Bird Wednesday, by clicking on the link HERE.  It’s easy to join in and you don’t have to be a professional – I am certainly not one.

I have had a great day.  I have driven past reed beds many times and seen these black ‘darts’ with red epaulettes jumping from reed to reed.  I just had to get down there and photograph them.  Today, I gave myself time.  Photographing wildlife is a patient affair.

So, I hope you enjoy my Redwinged Blackbirds, both male and female and my imposter…. the Red-Shafted Flicker.

Click on a photo to see a larger image.

This post is part of World Bird Wednesday.

This entry was published on May 22, 2012 at 4:45 pm. It’s filed under Photos and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink. Follow any comments here with the RSS feed for this post.

3 thoughts on “22nd May 2012 – Blackbirds and Flickers – World Bird Wednesday

  1. Fantastic captures! Very beautiful 🙂

Leave a Reply

