Pine River Review: World Bird Wednesday

Thought I would submit one of my bird photos from this week to be part of World Bird Wednesday.  It’s the first time I have ever contributed to this site and hope that my entry is of a reasonable standard.  If you want to learn more about this weekly challenge click on the photo link to the left or go here:  http://pineriverreview.blogspot.com/

It is of an Osprey.  I had to use my zoom but as it is only a 200mm length it was difficult to focus properly on the bird as it glided across the sky.  I’ve attempted to sharpen up the image and had to crop it a bit.  It could be better but you have to start somewhere.

This entry was published on April 18, 2012 at 4:44 pm. It’s filed under Photos and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink. Follow any comments here with the RSS feed for this post.

12 thoughts on “Pine River Review: World Bird Wednesday

  1. Gorgeous photo! Only in bird photography would a 200mm lens be to short! Thanks for sharing…Cheers!
    ;-)WBW!

  2. Sure is up to standard and above! I love flight shots and am not good enough to gt them. Like springman says though, the meme is for bird lovers, you don’t have to be a professional photographer. And those who are pros always have made me feel welcome as an amateur (both amateur photographer and amateur birder). Thanks for sharing! They’re beautiful birds.

    • Thank you Sallie. I really appreciate the encouragement. I would like to think that I could post something on WBW on a regular basis. Ospreys are rare birds in the UK but there are a lot more here in the Okanagan Valley, British Columbia. There are also bald eagles and other raptors. Here’s hoping I get some of those!!
      Kate

  3. The Osprey is such a beautiful bird. It’s not easy to photograph a bird in flight, so I’d say you did a good job!

  4. I found a site here along the San Diego coast where there are six nesting pairs of ospreys. Now I go out there once a week to keep an eye on them.

    • They have put up ‘nesting posts’ for the ospreys here in the Okanagan Valley. I know of one nest that has been utilised this year and I am watching those birds with interest too. Saw the ‘dad’ come in with food the other day but I was too far away to get a photo unfortunately.
      Thanks for visiting Russel.

  5. Cool shots of the Osprey. They are always a treat to see!

Leave a Reply

